Customer Service has lost its power.

L. Jean Davis
3 min readMar 12, 2023

Let’s get back to pleasing the customer, not the corporation.

Photo by LikeMeat on Unsplash

Congratulations to all those who wanted high pay for burger joints. I usually don’t complain often, but customer service has become horrible. I went to get a hamburger against my better judgment, and my single combo was $6.59. I have a $2.00 off coupon. I get to the drive-thru to a guy with long hair jumping all over the place. He acted as if he was hopped up on something from the night before.

He says, "$10.59".

"I have a $2.00 coupon. "$8.59."

"Sign says $6.59."

"Let me get my manager."

They want to argue and tell me to go back in line and look. They forgot to change the sign, but the point was the rudeness of it all.

This place needed help getting employees for two years.

I know they had been advertising $13.00 an hour for the past couple of years because of COVID-19. I know these places desperately need help, but you maintain the service. They were doing fine with the drive-thru only.

This drive-thru guy could have looked more professional and friendly. He did not have gloves or a hair net on his long hair. Things have gone down in customer service and health protections for customers.

--

--

L. Jean Davis

Life can be messy, and I write about it. I started at 60 years old. Travel, history, and life are my genres. https://5grandkids1great.substack.com